This ‘n That

So the last couple weeks, I’ve considered and discarded several blog post ideas because there wasn’t much to them. But I went and built this spiffy new place, so I need to keep up with it. That means, you get a mishmash of mostly random shit. Lucky you!

My ADD. Let me show you it.

First, I’ve been on a K.A. Mitchell reading kick. One of her books, Life, Over Easy, felt as though it was written just for me. She has a descriptive writing style, and quite a backlist, so I’m a happy reader lately.

I will, however, be setting aside most reading for the next few days to do another #MonsterWritingWeekend. If I’m to maintain my schedule, Power Exchange 3 (tentatively titled Consent) needs to  be finished mid-July and I’m only about half done. I have also agreed to beta for a fellow author (and I’m trying really hard not to gloat at what I have in my hot little hands) and then I have some other items to handle to prep PE3. I mean, it needs a cover, right? And not just any cover will do.

What I didn’t expect was a bout of flu. Who gets the flu in the summer? Apparently I’m an overachiever when it comes to reasons to nap. The resulting time off work, however, fucked up my vacation plans in October to go back to England to see Trouble. The good news is, Trouble will be here in eleven short days, and is staying for three months. I’ve only explained Trouble on Facebook, so a quick rundown is this: I met someone in England. We spent the entire week together when I was there in April. We talk every day and Skype when we can, though the time difference doesn’t help much. A few weeks ago, he worked some stuff out on the other side of the pond to be able to stay with me for three months. I won’t really be going into a lot of detail about our relationship because neither of us is comfortable letting it all hang out. I learned the hard way, and Trouble doesn’t want to be in my spotlight. But a mention here and there isn’t out of the comfort zone.

This weekend, I’ll be doing another #MonsterWritingWeekend, updates on Facebook. Hopefully this will put PE3 close to completion. Then editing, beta, and more editing, and I can get it out the door. These #MWW have been a huge boost for me. When I wrote nearly thirty thousand words in three days, I realized I could do so much more than just a scene at a time. The end result isn’t as important to me at the end of the weekend, even if I thrive on the competition with Kate Aaron (my most consistent partner in crime). What is important is knowing I pushed myself, I didn’t settle for good enough and if I’m honest, the creation of new scenes gets my blood pumping. So I’ll keep doing it, and even if I never reach the stupid high word counts I set for myself (this weekend’s is 20K), I’m still doing more than I ever though I was capable.

God, I love this job!

7 thoughts on “This ‘n That

  1. Wonderful news about PE 3 flying along. Given the ending of number 2 I didn’t think I’d ever have an opportunity to spend time with two of my favourite men again so I’m pretty close to my personal heaven right now. Of course the release will probably upset my reading schedule but you’re one of only a few authors for whom I’ll do that with out a second thought.
    Living in Ireland I should probably say something along the lines of ‘anything coming from England is bound to be trouble’ but I’ll restrain myself and wish you three blissfully happy trouble-filled months instead. 🙂
    At some point in the future one of those monster writing weekends will coincide with me having the Saturday off and being able to write along. Good luck this weekend and I can’t wait to see that cover you’re picking.

    Like

  2. I’m so happy your continuing Power Exchange. It’s one of my favs. Looking forward to your new books as always. Glad u found your special someone. Also glad ur feeling better too. Love the new blog!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow this following thing works, it’s nice to see a new post popping up on my phone! And it’s even nicer to keep us I-don’t-have-a-Facebook-account updated this way!
    So thanks for all your randomness and yes the Brits can get you in so much trouble;-) Cheers

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Well, as we say this side of the pond, Trouble comes in threes and as you have him for 3 months – good luck and enjoy!
    I must get following more on facebook, I’m not very good at it, other than stalking my 14 yo son to see what he is up too! I’m not a writer but 20k sounds a lot, good luck (again!)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I have never done a mww. I think I’d like to try. Keep Trouble a secret I firmly believe the public doesn’t need to know and disrupt everything. I’m so glad PE 3 is almost here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

